Hejb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

$$$$ December 28, 2010

Filed under: Thoughts — hejb @ 3:13 pm
Tags: , ,

As the new year approaches, there’s a theme of looking at current life assumptions and practices and deciding to make changes based on the introspection.

For about a year now, I have read books, blogs, and attended classes on money management.  I’m not okay that I’m in debt and have no savings.  I know I can do better and am constantly trying to figure out how to make that happen.

I know many of you are in a similar situation, so I’m going to share some of the more useful resources.  Some of these resources have appeared in previous posts, but are awesome enough to be included twice.

1. mint.com: You can load your bank accounts and set up a budget.  Mint will send you notifications when you exceed a category in your budget.  This is not a helpful tool if you have no cash flow; it’s better for those who have a consistent income.  Thrive is another resource, similar to mint.  I don’t use it, but it got a good review in some book I read.

2. Young, Fabulous, and Broke, by Suze Orman: Suze made me feel a lot better about being a broke 20 something, cause she gets it.  This book has a lot of good advice for young people, duh.  There are chapters that might not apply yet, but are good to read because they may apply soon.

3. Hot (Broke) Messes, by Nancy Trejos: This is a memoir/resource book.  It’s easy to read because Trejos went through a debt reduction process and pulled on knowledge from all sorts of gurus at the same time.  I don’t have a lot of sympathy for her need to have name brand clothing and nice jewelry, but I appreciate that she wrote about the inaccessibility of health care.  Check out the resource section in the back.

4. Vagabonding, by Ralf Potts: Find the motivation to cut back on your spending here.

5. Move Your Money:  Credit unions are nicer to people who don’t have much money.  They charge less for overdrawing accounts, or don’t let us do it.  Their interest rates are much lower than traditional loan and credit card companies.  I am in the process of switching to a local credit union.  I’m impressed so far; a banker took ten minutes to explain to me the printout of my credit score when I opened my checking account.

6. Fun Blogs: Frugalicious Foodie, Go Frugal, Wise Bread.  All of these blogs link to other blogs that can take you on an adventure of getting nothing done but reading people’s tips for saving money.

Basically, what I have learned is:

that if you’re broke, the distinction between needs and wants is very different.  I need to pay my car bill, but I want the Vogue with Natalie Portman on the cover.

that saving for retirement in my twenties is the only way I’ll be able to retire ever.

that paying down the line of credit with the highest interest rate is the place to start.

that having solid credit history is vital to cheaper insurance rates, rent, and interest rates.  If you don’t have a credit card, look into it, please, for the sake of your credit score.  Don’t use improving your credit score as an excuse to rack up debt on said credit card.

that happy hours and brewery tours = cheaper beer, that libraries have good book selection and they’re free, that volunteering can get me into events that I otherwise couldn’t afford.

that I don’t need as much stuff as I think I do and that the merit of my personality is not determined by how much money I have.

Good luck!

 

7 Responses to “$$$$”

  1. D Says:

    Oh, I remember watching Suze Orman on TV! I watched some special of hers when Young, Fab, and Broke was first published. Her advice is really good. My thing, though, is that I’m just entirely anti-credit. The only thing I can’t figure out how to acquire without using credit is property. But luckily, I have my student loans to build my credit score with so that I’ll be able to acquire property even if I can’t figure out a way to do it that doesn’t involve debt.

    Everything else, though, I’m going on a strict no-credit rule. And it’s amazing how much you can save on big purchases–even in non-haggling US–when you can plop down cash. I just hate credit. I want to save my money and then buy the things I want. And if I don’t have the money for the things I want, I try this radical thing called not buying it. 🙂 You’re definitely right about being broke teaching you the difference between “want” and “need”, and I’m of the opinion that no matter how much you limit your credit, it still blurs those definitions.

  2. hejb Says:

    Yeah, if you can work it, buying things cash is the way to go. Right now, I’m thankful for credit. When I opened my new checking account, I didn’t realize that they did a 9 day check hold, so all the money I have to pay my bills is tied up in this hold. I’m using my credit card to cover some of the bills. Really, it takes being smart and paying attention. Most of my snafus have come from not being up to date with my financial situation. I just wish that kids were learning all of this in high school instead of from the school of hard knocks.

    • hejb Says:

      PS. I completely agree with you about not buying it if you can’t afford it, or even if you can, cutting down on possessions is freeing!

    • D Says:

      My snafus have been the same thing–I’m just not paying enough attention. I think that’s why I eventually just decided to let the whole credit thing go. I honestly just don’t care enough to figure it all out and pay attention all the time to those kind of things.

      And I totally agree that this should be something covered with students! I think there are paradigm shifts coming in education, though. With the internet and total connectivity, the next generation won’t need to be educated on facts because they’ll have them at their fingertips anyway. So what becomes essential is teaching them how to teach themselves, how to find information and how to determine if it’s correct information. And all of those soft skills can be applied to any topic, and it should definitely be applied to personal finance!

      • hejb Says:

        Yes! That’s what I think has been missing, teaching curiosity and how to learn vs specific things. My only fear is that youth won’t realize how important it is to learn about personal finance until they’re already in debt. Bleah, it’s a relentless circle.

      • D Says:

        I know what you mean, but sometimes you just have to let them make the mistakes. My dad always used to say that there are two ways to learn everything: the easy way and the hard way. Finances seem to be something that most people learn the hard way… Ah, human nature!

  3. hejb Says:

    Yeah, unfortunately, learning the hard way is how the lesson has always stuck for me.


Leave a comment